Better Content = Better Creative

05302007log7As a creative director, it’s my job to keep my creative teams engaged, enthusiastic, and excited about their role in finding brand solutions for their projects. Believe me it ain’t easy. Commercial creativity is an exercise in which a lot of personal energy and passion is stretched, with more sweat and blood going into the final product than anyone outside of the business could ever imagine. Some of the stumbling blocks – the creative quick sand that creative teams encounter, includes briefs that are written without a single focus, incomplete information, lack of demographic/psychographic info, testing the brief via the creative solution, no budget for photography, no budget for film/video, no money for graphics, a strategy that hasn’t been bought into by the client, fast turn around deadlines … the list goes on and on. And yet, like Border Collies after a herd of sheep, the creative person gets up every day looking forward to solving fresh challenges, always in pursuit of the next big idea.

Gotta love ’em.

While many of the obstacles to finding the next big idea are operational, cultural and process-driven within creative departments (another blog post for another time) one of the ways to keep batteries fresh is to plug into the myriad of content available on the internet. I’m constantly amazed at the sheer volume of information available to us. Used to be I’d trek out a couple of times a year to the local art book shop and come back with 500 lbs of advertising and graphic design annuals. Now, I just have to log onto my TweetDeck or open my Google Reader and a whole world of positive creative energy is available to me in microseconds. It’s at moments like this I am totally in awe of the creative possibilities available to us. Imagine if creative legends like Helmut Krone or David Ogilvy were working today, what kinds of creative innovation they would be leading?

The way I see it, as head Creative Cheerleader, my part is to flag this incredible content … wave it in and make it available to my creative teams as an optional resource. Creatives are a naturally questioning tribe by nature. Chances are, where there is internet service, there is a creative someone surfing for the latest ads, type fonts and designs. But really good creatives work long hard hours and don’t always have enough time to chase down inspiration on their own. So I make it a point to contribute what I can. To spend time online doing research, with both my writers and art directors hats on – looking for inspiration. Looking for great content. Looking for award-winning work. Because creative solutions – brand or otherwise are only as good as the content (and ideas) that you put into them.

About Jill Atkinson

From concepts and smart headlines to original content and transmedia storytelling, to television pitch materials, directors treatments, long format writing, blogs and web copy with SEO, I write it all. I'm a writer, copywriter, and a content writer. My job is to help you say it better with ideas and language that get noticed. With copy and content that engages customers and audiences and ideas that make a connection with them. Ideas that generate a response. Materials that can sell a pitch. When you work with me you're working with the big boys: Maclaren, BBDO, Taxi, Sharpe Blackmore and also a great bunch of mid-sized agencies, b2b shops, a national television network (CBC), 15 specialty channels (History Channel, National Geographic, Showcase, Action, IFC, BBC Canada, + many more) and start ups who have taught me everything I know about how to get you noticed, remembered and sold. Or clicked. Or talked about. There are lots of ways to try to sell your products or to sell people on your offer or to engage them in your content and your show. But there is only one way to get it done right and on strategy. My experience is a foot in the door for your brand or your television idea . And no matter the size of your project, my commitment and attention to detail remain the same, big or small and always on deadline. Great conversations have to start somewhere. Give me a call or shoot me an email zookeepersboot@sympatico.ca Check out my work at http://jillatkinson.com
This entry was posted in advertising, blogging, marketing, social marketing, social media, television, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Better Content = Better Creative

  1. Pingback: Better Content = Better Creative | Technology News and Gadgets

Leave a Reply

