TV Tweets Will Add Value For Audiences

One thing I love about renting movies that I can’t get when I go see a film is the special features – usually including an interesting 20 minute “behind-the-scenes” segment. These things are kinda like a hopped up People Magazine – a microscopic look into the real stuff that goes on with cast and crew on a film set, plus director, DP and/or editor commentary to give us a sense of what they were thinking scene by scene.

It’s finally dawned on TV networks that there’s a way to harness the power to the people-ness of Twitter and add value to the rerun experience … use Twitter on reruns and allow willing cast and crew members to participate and interact with the audience via a live Twitter feed that can run across the bottom of the frame – similar to using subtitles with the director’s commentary. I think it’s a great idea, a way to entice audiences to repeat watch an episode of a favourite show. But I wonder how distracting it will be for anyone watching the episode for the first time? Either way, I’m sure it will be weird at first, and then with Darwinian speed, audiences will adapt to this new multi-message landscape, much like they did to the CNN crawl. Would love to know what you think of it if you happen to catch an episode that’s Tweeting.

About Jill Atkinson

From concepts and smart headlines to original content and transmedia storytelling, to television pitch materials, directors treatments, long format writing, blogs and web copy with SEO, I write it all. I'm a writer, copywriter, and a content writer. My job is to help you say it better with ideas and language that get noticed. With copy and content that engages customers and audiences and ideas that make a connection with them. Ideas that generate a response. Materials that can sell a pitch. When you work with me you're working with the big boys: Maclaren, BBDO, Taxi, Sharpe Blackmore and also a great bunch of mid-sized agencies, b2b shops, a national television network (CBC), 15 specialty channels (History Channel, National Geographic, Showcase, Action, IFC, BBC Canada, + many more) and start ups who have taught me everything I know about how to get you noticed, remembered and sold. Or clicked. Or talked about. There are lots of ways to try to sell your products or to sell people on your offer or to engage them in your content and your show. But there is only one way to get it done right and on strategy. My experience is a foot in the door for your brand or your television idea . And no matter the size of your project, my commitment and attention to detail remain the same, big or small and always on deadline. Great conversations have to start somewhere. Give me a call or shoot me an email zookeepersboot@sympatico.ca Check out my work at http://jillatkinson.com
This entry was posted in social media, television and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

